Bad advertising?

Dear Progressive Safety!

As you are one of the UK’s leading distributors of safety footwear, protective work wear, personal protective equipment and workplace safety products, I felt I needed to get in touch with you following an encounter with one of your employees.

To set the scene for you, I was driving along Rotherham Road, Barnsley on Monday afternoon at 1PM, the new Oasis album on the stereo (not bad in places but not a five star performance) doing a steady 35mph when I came to the point where Rotherham Road is intersected by a Give Way at Cliffe Lane, Monk Bretton.

I was about twenty yards from the junction, travelling towards Cundy Cross, and was aware of a red van moving from my left along Cliffe Lane, approaching the Give Way. ‘He’ll stop at the junction,’ I thought to myself, humming along with Liam. The fella approached the junction, looked at me, looked back at the junction and kept on trucking without any attempt to stop, slow or give way, causing me to brake considerably. Liam missed the note and I almost found myself in the back of the PSF van along with the boxes of Concept Full Peak Vented Helmets, Nato 50/50 Deluxe Weight Wool Mix Jumpers, Eurotec Bodywarmers and Moldex dust respirators.

I’m not sure if it was the sunshine that did him and he needed a pair of Crackerjack CE EN166 1FT Scratch resistant, polycarbonate lens, non-fog, ultra lightweight, night blue temples (CEBA non-scratch only) gigs on, but I thought the front of my Audi was a goner.

Now if this is a new advertising ploy I must say it’s been met with only mixed success. Admittedly I am now aware of your company – given that the tip of my car’s bonnet was almost inseparable from the back of the Vito (registration mark YR05 UZG) where all your details were emblazoned – however also given that my heartbeat had now been raised to that of a lion-startled gazelle and my blood pressure had been sent through the roof, I did feel a certain degree of antagonism between myself and your company’s representative due to his blatantly anti-social manouevre. This particular publicity stratagem had a negative affect.

Now, we can all make mistakes and obviously he’d got his PSF Task Force TF1SM boots on. No acceleration control with those steel toe-cappers! But if you could get him to remove the Bilsom Thunder® T1 Dual Dielectric ear protectors for a few seconds and drop him a Health and Safety approved volume level word about his driving I’d appreciate it.

Progressive he may have been – safe he wasn’t!

Best wishes.

PENDING REPLY

4 comments

  1. menhir · October 21, 2008

    Erm, working through and discarding all the techie speak, it seems you were cut up on the road from Barnsley. As you seem to have all the relevant details, you could contact the company the other driver represented.

    It’s your call.

    Like

  2. deleted user · October 21, 2008

    Reading that has tickled me pink!

    🙂

    Very clever!

    Like

  3. deleted user · October 23, 2008

    Remember the system of car control…
    Having just studied the location on multimap’s bird’s eye view, I reckon you have at least 100yards unobstructed view of the junction in question, even taking into account the rising grass verge to the nearside and the gentle incline of Rotherham Road, as it weaves it’s way toward Cundy Cross.
    The speed limit there is 40mph so judicious use of the accelerator, having spotted the other vehicle early on, would have allowed you to clear the junction, before the van arrived at it. Alternatively, by easing off the gas, again early on, you could have allowed said van to merge seamlessly into traffic, good observation and forward planning being the cornerstones of advanced driving, as you know.
    Remember a hazard, is what can be seen, what cannot be seen and what could reasonably be expected to happen.
    Start from the assumption that most delivery drivers would be more at home strapped into the cockpit of a Mitsubishi Zero, wrapped in a banzai headband, as they plunge towards the USS Saratoga and you won’t go far wrong.

    (Copy to driving school supervision for review of driving permit)

    Like

  4. GSmudger · October 23, 2008

    One should of course drive one’s own car as defensively as possible, safe and smug in your frequently justified knowledge that every other road user either wants to kill you or couldn’t give a babboon’s scrotum whether you live, die or spend the rest of your wretched life welded to an iron lung.
    Prudent as this may be for law-abiding Joe Motorist however, I humbly submit that it serves justice poorly. Should the feckless and reckless be allowed to get away with hurtling around our green and pleasant land in their lethal metal boxes of inertia, cutting up, diving in and causing arrhythmia in ordinarily healthy Britons? Particularly when traffic officers are so thinly stretched; the queue for the KFC drive-through won’t police itself after all.
    We need a gallant few to acquire unregistered bangers, beef up the brakes and engines, fit safety cages, weld on some discreet bull-bars, deactive the brake lights, watch Mad Max I and II, then patrol the streets failing to drive defensively. Funding shouldn’t be a problem; think of the whiplash claims. I’m not sure what we’d do about the sudden lack of white van drivers though. I’d miss those little cards that tell me one of them called while I was out and I’ll have to drive to Scunthorpe to collect the low value item that would have fitted nicely in my greenhouse.

    Like

Leave a Reply

